The Hot Beat

Icon

The second-day story, with your help. Call Gazette reporter Adam Belz at (319) 398-8273 or e-mail him: adam.belz@gazcomm.com

Shifting gears

Anyone who follows this blog has noticed that coverage of the Linn County Board of Supervisors is no longer my primary responsibility. Things are changing quickly at The Gazette, and one of the changes is that my energy will be devoted to “enterprise reporting.” That’s our fancy term for stuff like investigations, in-depth stories and narrative news stories.

So I’ve changed the name. The Hot Beat will be a general interest, highly local news blog that tries to provide deeper reporting on everything from crime and traffic to local government and flood recovery. My hope is that it will be a real-time, relevant forum for readers to participate in the stories that matter most to them.

I plan to report stories in bits and pieces, ask questions of readers, and throw out ideas. I’ll post videos and photos. At the end of the day, I’ll still write a story (hopefully a good one) that goes in the newspaper.

You will have the opportunity to challenge the facts I come up with, to rip my analysis and to point out angles I’m missing. Please e-mail me if you have pictures or videos. I’ll post them and gladly give you credit.

Filed under: Other

3 Responses

  1. Seth says:

    I think I just heard chorus of sighs (of relief) from somewhere…

    I look forward to your ‘new and improved’ blog and look forward to your continued coverage of the local stories that matter.

  2. Kathy says:

    Did anything come out of your looking into accident reports, etc?

  3. adambelz says:

    Thanks Seth. I look forward to your comments. No, Kathy, haven’t checked yet. I promise, promise, promise, I will do it on Monday.

Leave a Reply

