The Hot Beat

Icon

The second-day story, with your help. Call Gazette reporter Adam Belz at (319) 398-8273 or e-mail him: adam.belz@gazcomm.com

Dear Jim Houser…

Here we are again, talking about you — your computer, your morning commute, your mileage and your right under state law to reimburse yourself for the miles you drive.

Regarding your March 3 letter to the editor, which regarded my Dec. 21 Government Note, which in turn regarded your comments at a Dec. 17 Linn County supervisors “team-building” session, I will repeat what I’ve said to you many times: The Gazette did not report any “misinformation.”

Why would you say “it seemed silly for me to drive downtown (to supervisors offices in the Palmer Building) to check my e-mails, when I already checked them from home, and drive back to Westdale when I live on the far west side?”

Yes, it seems silly. Why would you even bring it up? If it seemed silly to you back in December, you should have just continued to check your e-mail at home, driven straight to Westdale in the morning and not complained about the location of the meetings.

But that’s not what you said, is it Jim? No, it’s not. You said it was “really inefficient” for you to drive to Westdale. You said you had to go to Palmer first. You said you had e-mail hassles because of the commute. You threatened to charge mileage for the trip.

We all say things we regret, and then we have to take them back. But you’re not taking anything back. You’re acting like you didn’t say what you said.

Let’s have another meeting with everyone who was at the meeting in December. We’ll call in Lu, and Linda, and Becky, and Brent, and Ben, and Joel, and maybe even Jeff Schott.

They will be the witnesses, and then maybe we can settle this.

Then you could write a letter to the editor about something else. There are, after all, other things to talk about. I can think of a few off the top of my head. Budget shortfalls. The sales tax election. The declining economy. Flood recovery. Flood victims.

Adam Belz
Cedar Rapids, IA

Filed under: County Government, Flood, , ,

5 Responses

  1. bob says:

    Keep ’em honest adam.

  2. Wayne says:

    So, it took him around 2 months to come up with this twisted tale or is it because he is now part-time and doesn’t have time to respond due to his travels? good job adam, keep up the great work.

  3. nscott says:

    I was a little behind getting to this article. When I saw Mr. Houser’s letter to the editor on the 3rd, I thought this is very odd. If Mr. Belz made a mistake about me (especially if it cast me in poor light) I would have corrected him immediately. Likely I would call him the same day it was printed and ask him to print a correction. If the Gazette did not print a correction, then the next day I would have written a letter to the editor detailing how I was wronged. The lapse in time alone makes this whole thing suspect.

  4. […] have it and still be fair. I think people are more accepting of it on the blog. You may remember a post I wrote in response to a letter to the editor from Jim Houser in March. I know there were some concerns […]

  5. […] have it and still be fair. I think people are more accepting of it on the blog. You may remember a post I wrote in response to a letter to the editor from Jim Houser in March. I know there were some concerns […]

Leave a Reply

