The Hot Beat

Icon

The second-day story, with your help. Call Gazette reporter Adam Belz at (319) 398-8273 or e-mail him: adam.belz@gazcomm.com

Lundby slipping away

I echo Todd Dorman’s approval for Jennifer Jacobs’ piece in the Des Moines Register on Mary Lundby — her failing health and her remarkable career.

I was four years old when Lundby was first elected to the legislature, and I’ve never covered the legislature as a beat reporter, so I won’t pretend to know Lundby.

But the handful of times I interviewed her she was warm, sincere and eloquent. Never brushed me off, even though I probably asked silly questions. Haven’t spoken to a more impressive politician.

Filed under: Other, , ,

One Response

  1. Brent Oleson says:

    There have been a lot of nice articles, thoughts by friends and constituents, and overall outpouring of prayers. It is clear this woman positively touched the lives of so many people. She worked diligently for the people, all the people, from the least among us to the most blessed, to do the best she could as their public servant. She put people before ideology, she put people before self-interest, and she put people before political expediency. She was true to herself and the public trust that was given to her by the people.

    I know a lot of people don’t want to say goodbye to those they love and admire, including me. What a great person, and I am so blessed to have known her. She has changed my life for the better.

    “I’m walkin’ down that long, lonesome road
    Where I’m bound, I can’t tell
    But goodbye’s too good a word
    So I’ll just say fare thee well”

    – Bob Dylan

    Fare thee well, Senator Lundby, fare thee well.

Leave a Reply

